Saturday 1st January

Today was a day of firsts. My first lie-in of the New Year was instantly followed by my first pangs of guilt at not getting up until gone 11:00. This was swiftly followed by my first feelings of mortality as I was reminded of the imminent fact of my ageing, which of course was synonymous with my first neuroticism of the year; 2011 was indeed off to a cracking start. In the afternoon Tom, Martin, Jesse, and I headed to the small Daita Hachiman Shrine located near Setagaya-Daita station (about 5 minutes from my house), where we gave thanks for the New Year that was ahead of us. Martin and I also tied yesterday’s bad fortunes to a tree in the shrine which effectively makes them null and void. Although as I had managed to lose my actual fortune somewhere between my house and the shrine, I had to make do with tying a pseudo version (i.e. a random piece of paper) to the tree, as such I am still a little conscious of my susceptibility to contagious diseases.

Goodbye mediocrity and disease, hello 2011!

In the evening Tom, Martin, and I headed to Shimokitazawa, where we wandered around looking for a place that sold soba (buckwheat) noodles, as these are traditionally eaten on New Year’s Day here in Japan. After receiving our first piece of misinformation this year from a shoe vendor (of all people), who told us that the nearest soba restaurant was about a kilometre out of town, we found a small Izakaya (Japanese bar) where we had a feast of soba, octopus, and buttered oysters all for the low price of ¥1700. In one fell swoop I had thus eaten my first hot meal, and bagged my first bargain of the year, making me also feel like a true Yorkshire man for the first time in 2011.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

