Sunday 2nd January

Today I nipped into Shibuya to pick up a few items, and rather unsurprisingly it was rammed. As I was passing ‘Loft’ (an upmarket department store, probably on a par with ‘Rackhams’) I noticed that there was a queue of people forming, and so I thought that it would be a good idea to join it. People seemed to be handing over money and then participating in a lucky dip; unsure of the required amount I handed over ¥1000, smiled, and asked for one ticket. I was surprised to see that I got ¥700 change back, but not as surprised as the girl was when she realised that I was unable to open the raffle ticket without mangling it! Eventually it transpired that I had won some type of ‘Cat purse’, and I was soon on my merry way, still not entirely sure what had just happened.

A Daruma doll, Cat Purse, and Writing Charm.

In the evening I went for a run, and was going to head to the Sento for a soak, but sadly it was closed. This was probably for the best, as I figure that by next week they will have completely forgotten about the towel borrowing and vigorous washing incidents. As a nice bonus I discovered that the reason why my shower was colder than ice was because I had knocked one of the switches to ‘small flame’. Not being able to face the explanation of a gas explosion to the authorities, I resisted the temptation of cranking this up to ‘large’, and instead settled on medium. Almost instantaneously I was rewarded with scolding water and a sound from the boiler which was reminiscent of Battleship Potemkin; still there was no green flame to speak of so I was reasonably confident that my apartment block would still be standing come morning.

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

