Tuesday 4th January

After having forgotten literally everything that I learnt over the 3 months before Christmas, I can gradually feel at least some of my Japanese coming back to me. Sadly, this is the least organic process possible, and is about as osmotic as the transference of water from a stone. However, I am confident that by the start of school next week I will be back to a level where I can at least feel the very top of my head poking above the water, as at the moment it would be fair to say that I am nearer to the Marina Trench. I have also come to the conclusion that it would benefit my listening skills greatly if I stopped listening to music/podcasts when out and about; it was thus with great sadness that I deleted the vast majority of my podcast feeds, and bade hello to new found commitment.

The deserted Honda theatre: symbolic of my quest for modern Japanese theatre? I bloody well hope not.

As part of my reason for coming to Japan in the first instance was to experience firsthand the modern Japanese theatre movement, I thought it high tide that I actually went and saw a production! Given that Shimokitazawa (less than 10 minutes from my door) is THE place to be for modern and underground theatre in the whole of Japan, it is actually a bit of a disgrace that I have not yet been to see anything there. In fact, if I were being totally honest I would say that last term I devoted too much time to revising from the textbooks, and not enough time actually putting myself in practical situations where I could use my Japanese. This would also explain my relative strength in grammar, and definite weakness in speaking and listening. Resolved to change my ways I set out to Shimo in search of the Honda theatre, full of hope, aspirations and general goodwill. This of course meant that the theatre was completely deserted, but I was at least able to pick up a listings, and am now determined to see at least one production there each month. Even if there are all exclusively in Japanese, and to the best of my knowledge feature neither cats nor refrigerators.

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

