Wednesday 5th January

Today I was supposed to be meeting with Rie, my language exchange partner, but she had to cancel because of work commitments. This was probably for the best, as I am still a bit shaky with the basics of Japanese conversation, such as how to actually hold one. Hopefully though by next week I might actually be able to engage in some good old tête-à-tête, or at the very least be able to talk about why Japanese apples are so big. This is my go to question in any difficult situation, and is brought out if the conversation is either beginning to lull, or if I am an asked an awkward question. It is yet to fail, but I am also pretty certain that I can only use it once per person per three month period.

Konnyaku – Even Satan himself was disgusted by it.

 

This evening I decided that I needed to get back to attempting to cook Japanese food (at least on a more regular basis), as those damn Cook-a-doo sauces have made me extremely lazy! I thus attempted the failsafe Kayaku-gohan (rice with vegetables) recipe in my Japanese cookbook. I say failsafe, but I somehow decided that I would take the following additional steps: 1)  soak the rice in boiling (as opposed to cold) stock for an hour, thereby meaning that it is effectively cooked twice; 2) decide upon a dish that requires a rice cooker, when you know that you don’t have one; 3) use a vegetable peeler of the no good Julienne variety, meaning that the only thing that is successfully peeled are your fingers; and 4) ensure that you include an ingredient that you know you despise, which in my case was the revolting konnyaku (or aptly named devil’s tongue jelly). And there you have it, one recipe for disaster. Still, I’ve had worse. Actually I say that, but… have you ever noticed how big Japanese apples are?

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

