Monday 10th January

In the afternoon I met my friend Edmund for a drink in a little coffee shop in Higashimatsubara. As well as being a fellow physicist, Edmund is also one of my sempi, and we had a very reassuring chat regarding the difficulties of learning Japanese, and the intricacies of being a scientist in Japan. This discussion reaffirmed my decision to pursue a theatre based work placement, and gave me confidence that I am not a complete incompetent when it comes to learning the language. These two epiphanies were accompanied by a delightful latte, complete with the world’s smallest pot of cream.

I know that the Japanese economy is fragile, but seriously…

This evening I had my first proper rehearsal for ‘Picasso at the Lapine Agile’, and it appears that we are going to have a great show. The director has a very clear vision, my fellow actors are immensely talented, and I don’t have to bother with a German accent for the young Einstein. Having played with the accent for the last couple of weeks, I was delighted to have the director tell me that: ‘We don’t need the accent because I want people to be able to hear YOU clearly’, I’m still not sure if that was a compliment or not, but it means that the world has been spared from a camp Arnold Schwarzenegger, for now at least.

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

