Saturday 15th January

Today I discovered the joys of Okara. Okara is the insoluble parts of the soybean which remain during the production of soy milk, after the pureed soybeans have been filtered. It is extremely healthy (low in fat, high in fibre, and contains plenty of iron and calcium), and is unbelievably cheap; I paid ¥80 (about 60p) for 400g of the stuff, but allegedly they give it away as a by product at tofu making shops, so I am looking forward to adding their staff to my roster of people that I attempt to speak to. Okara is also delicious! Well by delicious I mean completely devoid of taste, but it absorbs flavour well, and did I mention that it’s healthy and cheap.

No one was under any pressure to try my rice (far left), they were just reminded how much I had slaved over making it.

We finally had the wrap party for ‘Tartuffe’ tonight, and it was a pot luck event. This meant that I pulled out all the stops in attempting to recreate the vegetable rice that I had failed so miserably at last week. I obviously did something right this time though, as it was actually edible, and held up well to the other various offerings. The fact that less than a fifth of it had to be thrown away made it, in my opinion at least, an unqualified success.

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

