Tuesday 18th January

In the mid afternoon I became aware of a strange smell in my apartment. At first I was convinced that I had set my legs on fire, having been under the kotatsu since I had returned from school. However, it seems as though after recent incidents, my neighbours are fighting back with strange smells of their own. I am pretty certain that the smell of burnt toast was heavily related to the sound of a smoke alarm going off in the next flat but one. Thankfully I am neither paranoid nor anally retentive, so I didn’t waste any time whatsoever methodically checking every light switch, electric socket, gas valve and regions of potential static electricity.

Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No it’s a man devoid of both fear and sense.

I soon face the prospect of an even greater variety of noises and smells, as the building work next door is almost complete. I think that the reason why Japanese builders get so much done is that they have scant regard for their own well being, with most of them being happy to clamber three or four storeys without any safety harnesses. This is obviously great for deadlines, and has the additional benefit of keeping the population in check.

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

