Friday 21st January

Today’s visit to the bank, so that I could pay my rent, was cut short; as yet again the bank was closed! It seems to have the strangest opening hours, which from what I can ascertain from the kanji and past experiences, completely revolve around being as inconvenient to me as is possible. I even had the correct Japanese planned out for ‘I would like to pay my rent’. Instead this was wasted on the brick wall at the laundrette, which repaid my talkative manner and friendly approach by lacerating my head on the way out.

Found on the wall of my local laundrette. I’m not certain, but I think that it is saying that you should avoid placing mermaids in your pocket.

This evening I met with Rie, my language exchange partner, and had a lot of fun correcting the labels for the tea that her family sells; I just hope that my artistic flair doesn’t result in bankruptcy. I also got a chance to practice my Japanese, and understood at least 10% of what Rie was saying, so am definitely making progress. Rie has also very kindly invited me to a Chinese film festival that her sister is promoting. I’m pretty sure that we’re meeting on Monday, but in all honesty there’s something like a 1 in 7 chance that this is true. I just hope that the folks around the Higashi-Nakano Station entrance take kindly to me over the next week.

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

