Saturday 22nd January

A parcel from Amazon arrived for me this morning, which is both good and bad news. Good news because I am finally confident that things can be shipped to my address and actually arrive here; bad news because I now know where the majority of my income is going to go. However, the amount of money that I intend to spend on the world’s greatest website™ will be vastly reduced if I can work out how to operate the Japanese site, as at the moment I am paying to have things shipped over from the UK distribution centre, which is just bleeding stupid. Not to mention time consuming and expensive!

Here I am looking like a million dollars, or half a million yen to be precise.

This afternoon I attended a Kimono event that had been specially arranged by the wonderfully named ‘Friendship Chiyoda’,  a group whose aim it is to help Gaijin feel more integrated into Japanese society. At this event we were given a fashion show and lecture (Japanese and English), and were then dressed in a traditional Japanese Kimono, and had our pictures professionally taken; all for the princely sum of ¥500 (less than a fiver!). It was also a great opportunity to practice my Japanese, as amazingly I was the only English person at the entire event, my proudest moment being when I successfully managed to ask for directions to the toilets without being sent towards the local temple. I did feel rather spoilt, as many of the ladies kept fussing over me and telling me that I looked like a real Samurai. All this flattery meant that I was resolved to buy a male Kimono, or at least I did until I was informed of the price: the one I was wearing coming in at a staggering ¥500,000 (~£3,700). However, I then found out that they can be got for a lot less than this second hand, providing that you are willing to source them out; and so the hunt begins…

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

