Dolphin or Fish Egg? Tuesday 25th January

For once it was not me that made the largest error in class today. One of my classmates was trying to say ‘the man swims like a dolphin (Iruka)’, but instead he said ‘the man swims like Fish Roe (Ikuro).’ An easy mistake to make, but one which reaffirmed my suspicion that I am not alone in finding Japanese an incredibly difficult nut to crack. Buoyed by my newly found confidence I braved a visit to the bank to pay my rent. As usual I copied out the kanji from an old payment slip, but feared that the number of times that it had changed from the original meant that it must be starting to become nonsensical. My suspicions were confirmed when upon being given my receipt I was also handed a form filled out with my details and the letters ‘SAMPLE’ written across it in red letters. Changing one of those letters pretty much sums up how I felt.

Colours: somehow even these are different when they are written in kanji.

Yet again I got on the wrong train to rehearsal tonight, ending up in bloody Shinjuku again; no wonder I hate the place. It’s my own stupid fault though, as I should really start reading the names of the destinations on the trains, rather than relying on the font colour of the display boards, a tactic which has failed me now on far too many occasions.

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

