I Am Meat! Friday 28th January

Given my performances over the last few days, I was surprised to find that it wasn’t me who was guilty of committing the biggest blunder in school this week; that particular honour went to one of the Taiwanese students, who today proudly proclaimed ‘I am Meat!’ Even now I am still not entirely sure what it is that he was trying to communicate, but needless to say it put a smile on my face for the remainder of the day, which given that I had to travel on the train carrying a 3m washing line made out of lethally sharpened metal was quite some feat!

I spotted this lonely kite left bedraggled in a sea of Japanese trees in my local park, and felt somewhat empathetic.

This evening I visited the Sento, and as a special treat I even risked wearing my glasses. After I successfully managed to manoeuvre myself around the bath house in a half blind state, I slipped into the boiling hot waters and felt the stresses of the week slip away. I was so moved by the bath house’s calming effects that I even plucked up the courage to speak to the attendant, telling him that I felt good on the inside (kimochi ga ii), and that I would  see him next week (mata raishuu). He smiled and nodded politely, and was even sweet enough not to complicate matters by attempting a response.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

