The Destruction of the Sun as my Hatred of Shinjuku Increases: Saturday 29th January

This morning I successfully managed to completely block out the sun, by hanging out my washing on the balcony. My wet clothes were placed on the newly purchased metal pole, which I have balanced between two joists that stick out from the exterior wall of my apartment. Calling the set up a safety hazard would be like saying that the Egyptian political system is currently undergoing a slight reworking. After negotiating the abolition of natural light from my room I met Richard and headed over to Shakujii Koen, where we had a lunch date at the apartment of a delightful couple that we had met at last week’s (almost embarrassingly awkward) Kabuki event. We were treated to a bloody incredible roast beef dinner, and then spent time wandering around the beautiful temple, shrine, and nature reserve near their house. At said nature reserve we were even lucky enough to see a Kingfisher, which it has to be said was one of the things that I was probably not expecting to see during my stay in Japan.

The beautiful Shakujii Park

Such a pleasant afternoon meant that I was probably due an annoyance or too, and my old friend Shinjuku was there to ‘right the cosmos’, AKA annoy the hell out of me. Not only did I get lost in that bloody bastion of devil spawn, but I also got the wrong train, meaning that I was very late for my ‘Picasso’ rehearsal. Thankfully the director and cast were very understanding, but if I never set foot in Shinjuku again it will be all too soon.

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

