Power Tools and Dining Stupidity: Sunday 30th January

This morning and early afternoon was spent in the far Western reaches of Tokyo, helping with the building of the ‘Picasso’ set; and surprisingly, given my complete lack of dexterity and masculinity, I was allowed near a rather dandy collection of power tools. What was even more surprising was that I wasn’t actually a hindrance, and that when I left I did so with a spring in my step and ten digits on my hands.

I don’t think that it would be possible for me to look more unnatural than I do here.

This evening Tom and I headed to Yoyogi-Uehara to dine at a well known yakitori restaurant that Tom had read about. After asking for directions in a local shop we eventually found our way into the deserted restaurant and took our seats, surprised that neither the English menus nor the open fire that we had read about were on offer. After calling over the owner to order we realised our mistake, the restaurant that we wanted was next door and we were actually in what appeared to be Tokyo’s most expensive Sashimi eating place! We sheepishly paid our ¥1050 (about £8) table charge and headed next door, only to find it fully booked for at least 40 minutes, so instead wondered into a random izakaya, and ate superbly well for just over ¥1500 each. One day soon I hope to develop something resembling a clue.

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

