Child Labour and Vegetable-y Doughnuts: Monday 31st January

I am guilty of many mistakes as I attempt to come to grips with what the Portuguese missionaries initially referred to as ‘The Devil’s Tongue’, however by far the most frequent is my use of the word yasai (vegetable) instead of yasui (cheap). As the latter is my favourite adjective, I quite regularly tell people how ‘vegetable-y’ my most recent purchase has been. Thankfully the polite nature of the Japanese means that I normally get a smile and a nod, leaving them to ponder why that Gaijin was comparing his jumper to a Jerusalem artichoke.

Thankfully the filling wasn't anywhere near as sickly sweet as his face would seem to suggest.

Tonight I met Rie at Hagashi Nakabo (not to be confused with Higashi Matsubara, as I almost found out to my detriment), and went to a small independent cinema to see the Chinese film ‘Little Moth’. Mercifully the film had English subtitles, and it was a quite frankly brilliant piece of filmmaking. The plot centred on the fictional account of a young girl who had been bought in order to make money from begging, dealing with this horrific subject in a naturalistic and harrowing manner. In other words it was thoroughly depressing, but thankfully ‘Mr Donut’ was on hand to cheer me up with novelty shaped treats and unlimited refills on my coffee. Of course it goes without saying that the price was very radish like.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

