Easter Eggs and Brian Blessed: Wednesday 2nd February

This afternoon I had a private one hour Japanese language lesson, and was surprised by the fact that I did not totally disgrace myself. I even managed to convey the fact that at Easter English people celebrated the resurrection (‘once more birth’) of Jesus, and painted eggs (‘on eggs we draw pictures’). We then somehow got onto the topic of my grandma’s cooking, and a thoroughly good-time was had by all, well me, but that meant that at least 50% of the people involved were enjoying themselves.

Perhaps if I do find a Japanese girlfriend she would appreciate this thoughtful, and not at all commercial, gift.

This evening we had a rather fancy dinner in Ginza, at an exclusive member’s club, with some rather important people. Again, my Japanese was in ‘full flow’, and apparently my self-introduction went down quite well, apart from the fact that I had forgotten my volume control and so allegedly sounded like a cross between Brian Blessed and a foghorn. We had a great evening, and were encouraged to make Japanese girlfriends as a way to improve our Japanese. I tried to explain that I was trying my best, but my pleas fell on deaf ears, for which I only have myself to blame.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

