Secret Numbers and Geocaching: Friday 4th February

This morning I continued the battle with my computer, it is very much a losing battle. Thankfully I was able to calm myself down with a nice day of frustrating myself with another language that I don’t understand.

My first Geocache, I was so proud.

In the evening I went for a meal with friends at a Mexican restaurant, the food was pretty good and the highlight of the evening came when the waiter asked for my secret number. There was a bit of confusion until I realised that he was asking for my pin. After the meal a few of us went Geocaching, a pursuit which involves searching for hidden locations using GPS locations (AKA orienteering for grown-ups/geeks). Bizarrely the person who had hidden the marker that we were looking for actually passed us in our search, explaining that he had used strong magnets to fix it to the inside of a red telephone box (clue = ‘London’s calling?’), and thereby helping me on my path towards accepting this new pursuit as yet another interest in my pursuit of uber-geek.

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

