Expletives and Hetero-Reassignment: Saturday 5th February

Today started well, a combination of washing and the new building successfully removing all of the interior light from my flat, causing me to walk head first into the kitchen ‘door’, removing half of my scalp and the structural integrity of the inner wall in the process. Anyone within a five mile radius, who wasn’t awake already, was tenderly roused by the lulling tones of a plethora of very British expletives.

A mislabelled product: I know the feeling.

I got a rather interesting email from my friend Rie today, asking me if I wanted to go to an event with her and her sister that was being held in Shinjuku… at a gay club. At first this didn’t really raise any alarm bells, as I just figured that they wanted to go somewhere to dance, and wanted me to go with them. However, Rie signed off the email by telling me that my boyfriend was also more than welcome to attend. Ah. I rather tactfully explained that I was busy this evening, and that as I was straight and single, my boyfriend would also not be able to attend. I don’t know if something was lost in translation during our previous meetings, but I have resolved to be more masculinely assertive in the future; starting with a one day per week limit on tights wearing.

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

