Naked Paper Houses and Locker Etiquette: Sunday 6th February

Today I was determined to buy some bright red Wellington boots and so, armed with my vast lexicon of Japanese vocabulary, I headed into Shibuya. My confidence and resolution did not last very long, in fact it lasted about as long as it took me to have a very one sided and unsuccessful conversation with a sales clerk. Not knowing the vocabulary for wellingtons I asked if they had any ame no kutsu (shoes of the rain), and was subsequently pointed in the direction of waterproof trainers. I was at least marginally more successful in my quest for plain envelopes (naked paper houses), so the shopping trip wasn’t a complete write off.

Korean Food: All I know for certain is that it comes from Korea, and that it is food.

This evening a group of us headed to a nearby Korean restaurant, where I pointed to a couple of things on the menu and hoped for the best. When I ended up with seafood, vegetables, and fried rice I was delighted. What I was not so delighted with was the fact that someone was stood right in front if ‘my’ locker at the Sento. My OCD got the better of me and I reached past the person to get to my locker, only to find that it was full of his personal belongings. Many apologies and much bowing later I think that I was forgiven. At any rate I was allowed to continue my bathing, wearing nothing but my personal shame.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

