Cups of the Outside and a Penchant for French Pimps: Monday 7th of February

My adventures in the use of a restricted vocabulary continued today, as I asked the guy in Beck’s coffee shop for a ‘cup of the outside’ (take away cup). When he asked if I needed a bag I tried to strike up a conversation with him, explaining that I wanted to drink the coffee in the shop, but that I prefer take away cups. As this came out as something along the lines of: ‘I will be drinking in your house, but I really like the taste of coffee from a cup of the outside’, there was no real surprise when he did not reply.

Mothers lock up your daughters. In fact just put the whole family under immediate house arrest.

Last night at the Sento I had trimmed my beard down to a goatee, and after a day of walking around looking like an uber-camp Steve Austin I took the plunge and turned it into a full in moustache. Thank goodness I can at least tell people that it is for a play, and not because I have a penchant for French pimps.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

