Gucci handbags and The Pink Elephant in the Room: Wednesday 9th February

This afternoon I had about 10 minutes to kill before I met Rie, and so rather than wonder around in the cold I decided to go and warm myself up in one of the upmarket department stores. I obviously looked completely out of place checking out Bvlgari watches and Gucci handbags, as I was soon approached by a woman asking me if I was lost. Rather than tell her that I was merely wandering aimlessly in a bid to stay warm, for some reason I told her that I was looking for the nearest theatre. She then proceeded to give me directions, and followed me to make sure that I got there okay. I ended up being a considerable distance from where I needed to be, but was just glad I wasn’t frogmarched into the box office to buy a ticket.

Spotted outside Shibuya station; no apparent purpose other than to look utterly bizarre.

When I finally did met Rie the issue of my sexuality was surprisingly not brought up, nor was it a (pink) elephant in the room. I attempted to broach the subject by telling her that when I speak in Japanese I think I sound like a women, but either my Japanese was wrong or I was being too subtle, as this method just elicited an agreement. We had a very pleasant evening, and I am pretty certain that she now thinks I am straight, but she did tell me that my moustache suited my style, so who knows for sure; certainly not me.

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

