National Foundation Day and British Hospitality: Friday 11th February

Today was a national holiday; specifically it was ‘National Foundation Day’: a day to reflect on the establishment of this great nation. Sadly the only thing that I was left reflecting on this morning was that the well-timed snow storm caused me to lose the use of approximately 80% of my body, and meant that I had to go to the launderette to dry my washing. So cheers National Foundation Day, you cost me ¥300 and probably a couple of digits. As a caveat to that my local park does look rather beautiful in the snow-scape.

Scenes like this almost make up for the lack of any central heating in this damn place.

This evening I met up with Akira, who was visiting his family in Tokyo over the extended weekend, and we went for a meal in Shimokitazawa. As usual Akira was on great form, and we had a delicious meal at an Izakaya before heading to ‘Heaven’s Gate’, a classy British bar; oxymoronic as that may seem. Sadly the barmen misheard me and so poor Akira ended up with two (futatsu) pints of Guinness, when he only asked for one (hitotsu), still I guess that’s just British hospitality for you. Unfortunately for me, it was also British prices.

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

