Grammatical Black Holes and Running like a Drowning Madman: Monday 14th February

Today was one of those days where lethargy won over productivity. It appears that it is now impossible to submit a reasonable answer in class without the addition of the dreaded relative clause, and quite frankly this is rather terrifying. Yes, it was definitely a day where I felt like I took one step forwards, before realising that I had actually just plunged head first into a grammatical black hole, with only adverbs and adnominal structures to keep my company.

The beginnings of the snow storm.

On my way back home this evening it started to rain, and mindful of the fact that I had left a few things out to dry I ended up sprinting through the rain soaked streets. The combination of no umbrella, clothes that are too short for me, and questionable facial foliage meant that people parted for me in a manner not seen since the time of Moses. By the time that I got home the rain had turned into a full on snow storm and I was drenched; though thankfully my clothes were only 90% soaked, and so my running like a drowning madman had not been entirely without purpose.

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

