Yakuza and Shisha: Sunday 20th February

This afternoon I paid my weekly trip to the Sento, to warm my cockles and trim my moustache. Whilst there I noticed that there were a couple of rather burly men with tattoos who kept looking at me. I am pretty certain that they were members of the Yakuza (Japanese mafia), and so I tried not to stare back as they bic-ed their heads and cast knowing glances in my direction. I even managed to keep my cool when one of them insisted on using ‘my’ locker, opting instead for number 21 and the retention of my little fingers.

Martin and Daisy reflect nonchalantly on the final days of such superb enterprises.

This evening a group of us went to a Shisha bar in Shimokitazawa, where we enjoyed apple and cinnamon Shisha and drank plum and sea salt tea. It is a travesty to think that this area, one of the coolest and laid back in central Tokyo, will soon be no more, as there are plans for a central highway to be laid right through the middle of it during the next couple of years. I guess you just can’t stand in the way of so called progress, well not unless you’re willing to lose more than a couple of little fingers.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

