Good Morning, you Look Scary Today: Thursday 24th February

Today I managed to mortally offend one of the girls in my class, twice. First of all I told her that she looked very scary (kowaii) in her new outfit. I at least had a semi-legitimate excuse for this mistake, as I had meant to say that she looked cute (kawaii), and the two words do sound very very similar. The second insult came when during role-play she made a slight mistake in her pronunciation; I meant to respond by saying ‘Thank You’, but instead said ‘Good Morning’. Rather unfairly this made me look as though I was mocking the poor girl, whereas in actual fact I was just being completely incompetent.

Einstein: Well, relatively speaking.

Opening night of ‘Picasso’ was a smashing success: an almost full house, lots of laughs, and a really smooth run. I even managed to get most of my make-up off by the time I caught the train home. Alas, sadly the same cannot be said of my bubble perm and moustache, and there were more than a few odd looks from the two Japanese businessmen that I managed to squeeze myself between on the packed carriage.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

