Laughing All the Way to the Bank and Fun with Bicycles: Friday 25th February

Today was rent day, which meant  that I had to pay a trip to the bank, armed only with a wad of cash, a sample pay slip, a hope, and a prayer. As I was waiting for my payment to be processed I noticed that a couple of the tellers were laughing at my slip. Initially I thought that this was because of my cack-handed writing, but it soon transpired that I had actually dated the pay slip as January, a payment I had already made. To the undoubted chagrin of my landlady this mistake was soon rectified, and I was on my merry way. As I left the bank there was a chorus of thank you and goodbyes from everyone in the bank, customers included. This is the first time that I have noticed this particular phenomenon, so maybe it is reserved for their most ‘special’ customers, in an effort to give them a much needed lift.

Further proof of how Japan is singlehandedly decimating the environment.

On the way to ‘Picasso’ tonight I did my usual trick of reciting lines in the street; I have long since accepted that people think I am insane, and so I just carry on regardless. This evening there was almost an unfortunate incidence involving a small boy on a bike, my left elbow, and a busy road. One minute I was happily waxing lyrical about the curvature of space and the next this young lad had ridden straight into my gesticulating limbs. Thankfully he was able to regain his composure before he careered under a bus. Incidentally, tonight’s performance was a great success, and blessedly featured no near deaths.

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

