Coat Hangers and Other Sweet Requests: Sunday 6th March

This afternoon I visited my favourite clothes shop in Shimokitazawa, where I bought two pairs of jeans and a shirt for ¥2000 (about £16). I was rebuked for taking my shoes into the changing room, but so happy was I with the comprehension of this dressing down that I didn’t really mind. Sadly I was less successful in my attempts to retain the coat hangers and, as I left the shop someone shouted yasui at me; confirming my suspicions that I am either cheap, or a vegetable, or possibly both.

The culinary delights of a well ordered Yakitori feast.

After my relative success and failures in the world of retail I met up with some friends and went to the Shisha bar in Shimo. After asking for some sugar to go with my coffee, I watched in guilty horror as the owner left the shop unattended to go and buy some. In an attempt to appease him I used two sachets and did without milk. Following on from the culpable pleasures of the Shisha bar I met Tom in Yoyogi- Uehara, where we finally managed to have dinner at the yakitori restaurant that we had read so much about. Almost as impressive as the food was the fact that the reservation that I had ‘made’ on the phone actually turned out to be valid. Understanding basic instructions and booking a table at a restaurant; I envisage work on the great Japanese novel to begin within the week.

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coat Hangers and Other Sweet Requests: Sunday 6th March

  1. Chris says:

    What is it with you and coathangers???

    • truehamlet says:

      I REALLY do not know, but I believe that if I knew the answer to this, then the end of the Universe as we knew it would come about.

Leave a Reply

