A Shower Water Aperitif and My Fear of Being Hobbled: Monday 7th March

Another week and another morning of Keigo induced hell. Whilst going round the class and practicing our self introductions I was reminded of the fact that I really don’t know very much of anything at all. If I ever am in a work party environment I hope that I am able to muster more than: ‘My name is Sam and I hail from the small town of Harrogate, located in the Northern direction of England’, but in reality I will be impressed if I manage to convey that I am a living breathing human being. Still, I can at least be sure that I won’t order any ‘Shower Water’, like our Taiwanese friend did in today’s class; although this has less to do with any innate ability on my behalf, and more to do with the fact that as a teetotaller I would have no need for an ‘Apple Sourz and water’. By lunchtime it had gotten a bit much for one of the girls in our class, who told us that she was planning on leaving Japan at nine o’clock. I think she meant September (i.e. the ninth month), but I can’t be certain.

Unloved, stymied, and misunderstood: the Jim Davidson of the shoe world.

The weather here today has been dreadful, with rain, wind and even snow. I was jolly surprised to find that my umbrella actually made it through the day in one piece; although sadly the same cannot be said for my shoes, two pairs of which I have now officially ruined. I am sure that I could make the time to go to my local shoe repairers, but quite aside from the fact that I ought to be spending every waking second revising for the upcoming unit test, I am worried that a combination of very bad Keigo, and the incorrect usage of transitive verbs will result in a hobbling.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

