A forest of failure and Stuttering Rebukes: Tuesday 8th March

As we have a rather large unit test at school coming up, we have been given the rather decadent luxury of actually going over what we have learnt. So far this has been very successful in reminding me of my utter incompetence, and the short speech that I was handed back from the teacher seemed to contain more corrections than original thoughts. As a green pen was used for this purpose, it had the effect of reducing my best attempts to looking like a forest of failure.

Somewhere in this forest of failure is a ripping yarn about exports and imports into the UK.

This evening Rie and I went to see ‘The King’s Speech’, using tickets that I had procured for the bargain (for Tokyo) price of ¥1000 each. Upon arrival at the cinema we had to queue up, and were allocated seats based on some kind of raffle involving our ticket numbers. After finally being awarded seats which were at best a booby prize, and at worst another thinly veiled attempt to hobble me, I was then rebuked for attempting to eat in the cinema. Thankfully me excuse of ‘Sorry I am a typical naughty Gaijin’ seemed to go down quite well, and the looks of scorn lasted for only three quarters of the film. Inspirational as King George VI undoubtedly was, I can’t help but think how he would have got on with the short speech that I have to give on Friday. Probably better than me though, although as far as yardsticks go that I’m at least a yard short.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

