There are Many Horse Faced Fishes Living in the Sea and Bicycle Funk: Wednesday 9th March

Today’s lessons passed without any major incidents, and I even managed to surprise myself by doing reasonably well on the mock listening test. The only real blunder that I made was when I misheard one of the answers as ‘There are many horse faced fishes living in the sea’; I think they were actually talking about Mrs. Aoki’s love of horses, and her recent visit to the seaside, but I can’t be too sure.

Bikers (allegedly) unite!

This evening I met with some friends at the wonderfully named ‘Pink Cow’ in Shibuya. Here I was able to enjoy good company, hearty grub, and the monthly meeting of the Tokyo bikers’ society (the self propelled variety). It seems that in order to become a member of this prestigious group a love of Lycra, slide shows, and Funk are essential; all three of which were on constant display throughout the evening, and certainly made for some interesting viewing. In hindsight I should probably have been more alarmed by the fact that I didn’t hear any mention of bikes, let alone see one, for the entire evening.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

