An Evening with Boyzone and Bemoaning the State of the British Transport System: Friday 19th March

And so it was that I was roused by the gentle tones of ‘Boyzone’, and the pleasing sensation of a semi-crippled neck from having attempting to sleep on a chair in the foetal position; still 5 hours sleep and only 7 toilet breaks wasn’t bad at all. The queues for check-in were, as expected, rather large, but I managed to clear security and immigration in less than ten minutes, an all time record. Wandering around Narita airport it really hit home how much I am going to miss Tokyo, nowhere was this more apparent than the tempting offer of an oxygen bar, where I could breathe purified air and get sozzled on sake, probably. The plane itself was just over half full, although there was of course a bloke sat next to me, meaning that I was forced to abandon sleep and watch in-flight films for the next 12 hours instead. These ranged from the disturbing ‘Never Let Me Go’, through to the awful ‘Déjà-vu’, via the surprisingly good ‘Morning Glory’.

Just what I want before I get on a plane.

The flight itself was actually not too bad; I only thought that I was going to cease to exist on a handful of occasions. However, by the end of the flight I was severely dehydrated, shattered, and in need of a good shower. Imagine my delight then when I finally reached St. Pancras station only to find that unless I waited until 19:00, a return train to Harrogate was going to set me back almost £200!!! Even then, the super saver economy was over £90. So it was that within a couple of hours of arriving back in the UK I was left bemoaning the state of the British transport system, which not only insisted on robbing me blind, but also meant that I wouldn’t be getting home until almost 22:00. Oh, it’s good to be back.

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Evening with Boyzone and Bemoaning the State of the British Transport System: Friday 19th March

  1. chris says:

    You seem to be surprised by this….
    Seeing your pictures made me imagine a scenario: a RyanAir flight to Japan, only £3, but you had to provide your own oxygen…..

  2. chris says:

    By the way, what with the awesome start this year has had so far, I have now christened it “2011: the year of the shit-storm”

Leave a Reply

