Miserly Germans and Force Feeding Restaurants: Friday 15th April

This afternoon I bought a MacBook Pro, which I was chuffed to bits with. What I was not chuffed about was having to walk down to the nearest ATM and withdraw ¥17000 (just over £1000), as my lack of Japanese debit/credit card meant that I had to pay in cold, hard cash. Sadly, by the time I returned to the shop the cash was hot and moist, drenched by the sweat that oozed from every pore in my body over the possibility of a mugging. Thankfully as this was Japan, and people here are generally lovely, I was fine. Setting up my new MacBook I soon discovered that not everyone in Japan was as lovely as I had assumed, as I discovered that the reason that my printer was not working correctly was because the bloke who had sold it to me a couple of months ago had taken out the bleeding ink cartridges! In fairness to the Japanese though, this chap was a German, and so it is instead their hereditary miserliness that I shall be warning people of.

The Cherry Blossoms in Higashi Park: beautiful.

After an afternoon walk through the beautiful cherry blossoms in my local park, I met with a friend for dinner at an Okonomiyaki restaurant in Shomokitazawa. As it was an all-you-can-eat-and-drink affair, I found the attentiveness of the waiting staff to be an added bonus. In fact, so keen were they that we got our money’s worth that they kept insisting that we ordered drinks, and literally would not let us leave until we had first ordered and then eaten desert. For a nation of supposed austerity, our hosts went some way to ensure that I had an evening of gastronomical debauchery. No doubt if this were Germany we would have been charged for our attempted restraint.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

