Lovers and Pigeons: Sunday 17th April

The afternoon was spent alternating between the gorgeous sunshine of a Tokyo spring and the equally gorgeous warmth of my Kotatsu. The decision to wear shorts and a vest top meant that whilst outside I was as warm as toast, inside my flat it was a very different matter: my toes quickly turning blue outside of the warmth of my personal cocoon.

'Did you just hear a camera shutter?'

Outside in my local park, lovers congregated to whisper sweet nothings and feast on homemade picnics. I pitched up on an empty bench and tried to get on with some reading without feeling like a embittered voyeur. Thankfully I had the pigeons for company, well I did until one of them got a little too close for comfort and mistook my toes for a tasty treat. And so I returned to my flat empty hearted, but in possession of all my unlucky digits; surviving the stomach of a pigeon, only to be subjected to probable frostbite.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

