Voice Recognition Failure and Not Even The Pigs: Friday 22nd April

Contrary to exceptions I not only passed all elements of my latest Japanese test, but also managed to perform to a standard dangerously approaching that of competence. However my newfound confidence was almost shattered by the pronunciation exercises that I did in school this morning. Using a piece of voice recognition software, the correct pronunciation of fairly basic Japanese sentences was compared to my ‘tranquil’ tones, and I was told repeatedly, and in some detail, why I was such an abject failure.  The fact that the teacher only managed to get 2 out of 5 stars only served to confirm my suspicions that no one can actually speak Japanese.

I'm told that they have Bobsleigh team.

This evening my friend Jun and I went to a Jamaican restaurant in Harajuku. I had the excellent salt fish and ackee, as today is Good Friday and so I cannot eat meat. And I do literally mean that I cannot eat meat today, as ever since I was old enough to consume solids my Grandmother has told me that ‘Not Even the Pigs Eat Meat on Good Friday’, with such insistence that if I were to commit this sin, then my body would very likely immediately shut down. For very similar reasons I blame my inability to drive on my mother’s advice that being in control of a car is like ‘being behind the wheels of a killing machine.’

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

