Singing in the Rain and A Five-Fingered Discount: Saturday 23rd April

Today there was an almighty storm raging for most of the day. I don’t normally mind a bit of rain, but what I most certainly do mind is the average Japanese person’s umbrella related behavior, as I have never met a group of people who have less special awareness in my life. Normally this manifests itself with people repeatedly colliding with my midriff and lower back (part of which is now partially crippled as a result), but when the rain comes out I have to deal with the very real danger of being blinded, about every three steps or so. Thankfully I have found that if I sing to myself in the street then I can normally buy myself another couple of inches of breathing space. My eyesight for my perceived sanity: a more than fair trade-off in my opinion; although in fairness neither of them is much good these days.

Next week I challenge the chef to game of monopoly for the deeds to the property.

This evening I went for a splendid meal at an Izakaya in Shimo Kitazawa, and when the bill came I was asked for my discount card. I said that sadly it had been left at home, by which I meant that I had given the card from a similar restaurant to a friend. The waitress then said that she would still give me the discount if I beat her at rock paper scissors. Sadly my tactic of scissors never failed proved to be foolish, but when the bill came low and behold, there was the discount. Scissors: never fails.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Singing in the Rain and A Five-Fingered Discount: Saturday 23rd April

  1. Richard Jones says:

    I like your special spelling of spatial 😉

    Glad you got your discount – we never used the card so I shall return it later!

Leave a Reply

