A Garden Like a Cat’s Forehead and Problems with Caffeine: Monday 25th April

Today we started the intermediate course in school. From what I have gathered so far, this is very similar to what we were doing before, only without a grammar book explaining what everything means in English; so I’m glad that I leant the word for volitional verb in Japanese. A lot of the work also seems to be concerned with using idioms to demonstrate grammatical constructs, with today’s lesson focusing almost entirely on cat-based metaphors.  I thus now know that ‘giving an expensive book to someone who is just going to display it on their bookshelf without ever using it’ is like ‘giving a cat a ¥10,000 note’, and that ‘having a narrow garden’, is like ‘having a garden as spacious as a cat’s forehead’. This last sentence in particular looks as though it could form the bedrock of my usage of Japanese in day-to-day life.

Giving me this page of feline-based metaphors is like giving a cat a ¥10,000 note.

This evening I met Sarah for a coffee; my first in over six weeks now that lent is finally over; when I got back to my house I quickly lost control of my legs and began shaking uncontrollably. At first I wondered if it had something to do with my circulation (even in the middle of Spring my hands are pretty much like ice), but I soon realized that I was having an unbelievable caffeine rush. This lasted for about 3 hours, and was a timely reminder that I should probably ease myself back into the 5-6 cups a day that I normally drink. It might even be necessary to restrict myself to a couple of cups a week for the next month or so, as my headache tomorrow is going to be awful. Especially because in my caffeine-drenched haze I spent a good amount of time searching for a cat inspired simile to describe my degeneration: surprisingly there wasn’t one.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

