Blinded in the Sun and Rewriting the Syllabus: Thursday 28th April

Today I woke up to glorious sunshine beating through my windows, and as I set off to school there was a spring in my step; as well as the fantastic weather there is a public holiday tomorrow to look forward to  (nothing to do with Will and Kate, it is in fact Showa Day, in memory of the late emperor). Turning off my street and onto the main road my good mood was shattered, as my eye was almost removed by a bloody parasol! Earlier this week I was only joking when I said that this would happen, but with my newfound gift of prophecy I should definitely play the lottery this weekend, or at the very least stop talking about loosing my eyesight.

The Japanese vampires had developed a very cunning plan indeed.

This afternoon I had a meeting at The Tokyo Institute of Technology to discuss the possibility of a science and theatre based collaboration. Thankfully I was able to convey my ideas in English (somehow, ‘I thought that it was chocolate and so I put it in my mouth, but it was not chocolate but a rubber’ didn’t seem appropriate), and I must have said something right as I have now been charged with writing the syllabus for a new module that is going to be incorporated into the Science and Communication course. Bloody and indeed hell.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

