Psychedelic Folk Music and A Brief Encounter: Wednesday 27th April

Today we finally got our new textbooks, although sadly we are still awaiting delivery of the new classroom. Probably the most amazing thing about our new learning resources is their astronomical costs. The CDs alone cost ¥3,500 per copy, and whilst the school provides them to us for free, for that price I was expecting something that was at least as long as the ‘Trout Mask Replica’ by Captain Beefheart and his magic band (28 tracks). Instead I was presented with a 25 track CD that contained titles such as ‘Compare’ and ‘Convey’, hardly the stuff of inspirational psychedelic folk music, and for just over £25 I think the school’s been mugged: no wonder the CD-industry is in danger of dying out.

The beige really lifts my otherwise drab interior, and blocking out all sources of natural light is definitely a good thing.

This evening I went into Shimo Kitazawa to see a man about some curtains. After waiting in the agreed time and place for about twenty minutes he still hadn’t showed up, there was however a lady that had been standing next to me for a good five minutes or so. Assuming that I had obviously made a mistake and that I was in fact supposed to be meeting a woman, I attempted to strike up a conversation with her. That was my first mistake. My second mistake was still being there ten minutes later when her friend came to meet me; they both just looked at me as if I was some kind of weirdo that had been waiting in the same spot for about twenty minutes, whilst quietly reciting his Japanese lessons to himself and occasionally breaking into song. Honestly, some people.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

