Unicorns and Computer Literacy: Monday 2nd May

Today in school we played a game (in Japanese of course), where we were asked to list three animals. Our teacher explained that this was in actual fact some kind of personality test, and would reveal things about our character. I opted for: a wolf; a fox; and a unicorn, in that order. We were then told that the first animal is what we would like to be, the second animal is what our friends see us as, and the third animal is what we actually are. So, according to this Japanese personality test my friends see me as a bit of a sly git, and whereas I would like to be a ferocious hunter, I am instead a fairly limp-wristed and mythical creature: yep seems about spot on to me.

Spotted near Ikebukuro: Sadly my back just wasn’t up to it.

This afternoon Richard and I had the first of many meetings to discuss our possible work placements in Japan, once the teaching aspect of our scholarship has ended. Quite frankly I find the prospect of doing anything in a theatre environment, using only Japanese, to be fairly terrifying, but I am hoping that my level of Japanese will be such that by then I will at least be able to delegate. Interestingly, during the interview, one of the questions that came up was: ‘Can you use a computer?’ Now either the level of ability expected from the average intern in Japan is surprisingly low, or I give off even more of an air of useless than I thought. I mean these days I bet that even a bloody unicorn could use a computer.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

