The Colour of Slightly Undercooked Lobster and Sighing Bedraggled Manslaughter: Friday 6th May

During the course of my morning shower I thought that I had somehow confused the hot and cold flow, the result of which being that I repeatedly scolded my head. In actual fact, it turned out that I have picked up a spot of sunburn from the hiking expedition. Whilst the weather was sunny for most of Wednesday, I still spent large parts of the day with my hands resembling something found in a morgue, and so to find that I had begun to turn the colour of a slightly undercooked lobster was most surprising. It still didn’t stop my shower from hurting like hell though.

The most interesting thing about the film festival was this sculpture in the foyer of the building. The sculpture asked that I stress its mutual exclusivity to said event.

This afternoon Richard and I attended a screening of short films in Shinjuku, as part of the larger ‘Experimental Film Festival’. Had I paid for the tickets I would now be screaming bloody murder, but as they were free I shall instead sigh bedraggled manslaughter, as the whole event was quite frankly awful. Actually, that’s not entirely true, as we left halfway through the 4th (of 7) film, and so things could well have improved; however I severely doubt it. Richard’s review that: ‘And that is why the Arts should not get funding’ was, if anything, far too kind.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

