Transitive Cooling and a Set of Cutlery in Her Hair: Monday 9th May

Today I made the foolish mistake of dressing like it was summer. As it was a beautiful day, it wasn’t so much the weather that made me curse my wardrobe selection, as my body’s continued insistence that I am living inside a freezer. In class, when asking for the air-con to be turned off, I succeeded only having it turned up to the max; there really is nothing like a morning spent in arctic conditions to brush up on one’s transitive verbs. I would have said something, but the plummeting temperatures meant that raising my hand became something of a challenge.

I have no idea why she is looking so glum, as this is definitely a look that is working for her.

Also in class today we discussed things that had shocked us since arriving in Japan, which gave me the opportunity to show everyone a photo that I had taken yesterday. Richard and I were getting on the Yamanote line at Shibuya when who should walk past, but a girl with purple hair, bright pink tights, and a set of cutlery in her hair. Whilst I have been guilty of the odd garish tight wearing moment, I am yet to wake up and feel the urgent need to empty the contents of my kitchen utensil drawer into my hair. As that draw currently contains a potato peeler and a butcher’s knife (but still no forks) that can only be seen as a very good thing.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

