Michael Jackson as a Grammatical Tool and Shoe Sniffing Manga: Thursday 12th May

Today in class I finally managed to ask the teacher to turn the air conditioning off, however my joy was short lived as I proceeded to ask her to write down a sentence on the whiteboard, when what I had actually wanted was for her to read it to me. As the sentence took up at least three lines of small print in my textbook, the teacher looked slightly nonplussed as she set about catering to the needs of one of her more ‘gifted’ students. I attempted to bring a semblance of joy back into her life by using Michael Jackson lyrics to practice some grammar, but somehow: ‘If you want to be my child, whether you or black or white is not as important as if we have similar feelings’, didn’t quite cut the mustard.

You don’t need to understand Japanese to know that this is just plain wrong.

After telling Rie that I am a big comic book fan, and that I would like to learn to read some Japanese manga, she very kindly leant me some of her ‘more accessible’ comics. Even though she has assured me that they are pretty easy to follow, they are all still bloody Greek (or even Japanese) to me, although after about twenty minutes I did successfully manage to get the gist of the first page. Flicking through, I noticed that on Pg.14 there appears to be a gym instructor who enjoys sniffing his shoes; only two weeks until I can find out why, hello motivation!

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

