Killer Bananas and a Face-Saving Epiphany: Friday 13th May

Today in class I actually managed to understand over 80% of the questions that were directed towards me, and at least 60% of what was said in general. I even managed to tell the teacher that eating too many bananas can lead to death, via a potassium overdose. Of course this was all ruined when I then asked him if the exercise we were working from came from a similar book to our classroom; damn you kyoukasho (work book) and kyoushitsu (classroom)!

I have a dream: that one day I will be able to play Chinese Chess with a bunch of old men.

This afternoon Tokyo was awash with sunshine, but unlike earlier in the week the humidity was actually manageable. Walking through my local park, I came across a group of old timers by the baseball diamond. They are usually there, smoking; drinking; and generally just enjoying one other’s company, but this afternoon, drenched in sunlight as they were, I found myself being drawn towards them. As I walked towards them I had an epiphany, what the hell was I doing?!? I don’t even know how to differentiate between a classroom and a textbook; let alone play a game of Chinese chess. Something tells me that not even my banana story would have saved me.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

