Lost Again and Living in Another Season: Sunday 15th May

The day started well, as I managed to get lost on my morning run. Given that it was a beautiful morning, the streets were a little busier than expected, and so rather than concentrating on where I was going, I spent a large amount of time trying not to run into anyone; a task made all the more difficult because of the average Japanese person’s insistence to work in zig-zags! Dodging these wayward bullets, I ended up miscounting the number of McDonald’s that I was supposed to have passed, and found myself in the far reaches of North Western Tokyo. After nearly an hour and a half of mindless running I finally made it home, resolving never again to rely upon bloody Ronald McDonald as a legitimate point of reference!

At just over ¥30000 (~£230) and 5' tall, what was not to love about this 'ornamental trinket' on sale at my local thrift store.

Even though the weather didn’t dip below 25 degrees for almost the entire day, I appeared to be the only person in Tokyo that was wearing less than 5 or 6 layers of clothing. In my denim shorts/hot pants, vest top, and sandals I looked like I was living in a completely different season to everyone else around me, a vast improvement on my usual feeling of living on another planet.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

