Offending the Taiwanese and a Sweet Invitation: Monday 16th May

Another week, another golden opportunity to ostracise myself from the rest of my classmates. Today I made the mistake of referring to one of the Taiwanese students as Thai, an easy mistake to make, but one, which I am almost certain, will have rather negative conations for the remainder of the term. At the very least I can see it leading to more sniggering about my remedial use of Japanese, although waking up next to a horses head still remains a distinct possibility.

This formed part of my tea this evening. It is some form of croquette, and it may well have contained meat, but beyond that I haven’t the foggiest.

On my way out of the house this evening, I bumped into my ‘landlord’, and had a brief chat with him. Before I knew what I was doing I was inviting him over for drinks and nibbles on Thursday night, or as I put ‘Please come round why don’t you on Thursday evening. We can eat sweets whilst we talk and drink at the same time. Please will you come.’ Amazingly he didn’t proffer any excuses, and said that he will be round on Thursday evening. I think I told him that I will be in from 5pm until I go to sleep, although I have a horrible feeling that I might have said, ‘Come at 5pm and stay until I go to bed’; looks like I’d best get some sweets in then.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

