The Look of a Scary Thing and Steamed Oily Rice: Tuesday 17th May

Today in class we discussed how the Japanese enjoy spending their leisure time, what games they play, and how this differs from the traditions and culture of our own countries. Emily and I gave a very good account of ‘Charades’, although I think that some of the students were a little taken aback by my attempt to impersonate a family of monkeys. Still it seemed to work, as Emily got ‘The Jungle Book’ almost immediately. Later on, in our ‘role-play’ lesson I was paired with a couple of girls from my class. ‘We’ decided upon, and then presented to the rest of the class, a scene in which I asked one of the girls on an imaginary date to the cinema, who then immediately invited her friend along because, and I quote ‘He has the look of scary thing’. Given the Charades debacle, this was hardly unexpected, and quite possibly a very wise idea.

This little fellow now guards the entrance to the house next to my block of apartments. At first I thought that it was an inanimate object, but I am beginning to have my doubts, as every time I approach it it’s eyes seem to glow red and look straight at me. Makes me feel right at home.

Recently I have been using my electronic rice cooker (which was very kindly given to me by one of my sempai) as a slow cooker: I just bung in a load of ingredients and wait for the red light to go off. Up until this evening this methodology had worked surprisingly well, with perfectly steamed dishes at every attempt. Unfortunately this evening I wasn’t quite paying attention to what I was doing, and instead of adding 2-3 tablespoons of Soy Sauce to the recipe I added the equivalent amount of olive oil. Needless to say I don’t think that my ‘Steamed Oily Rice with Vegetables and Meat of an Undetermined Source’ will be winning me awards any time soon.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

