Hard Hats and (Over) Dressing For the Occasion: Wednesday 18th May

Today in school we had an earthquake drill. The old earthquake evacuation procedure involved us leaving the building and walking to a ‘nearby’ park, however when the March earthquake actually struck it became apparent that walking for over 20 minutes through unknown streets was a little silly.  The new procedure involves us filing out of the building and into the school’s basketball court, which is considerately nestled between two 7-storey buildings; exactly where you want to be when an earthquake hits. I pointed this out to my teacher, and she suggested bringing a hard hat to school.

Here I am performing the old 'Eating a Japanese Pound Cake whilst Melting to Death' trick: mmmmm.

This afternoon I had a meeting to discuss my work placement, which will be starting in October. Therefore, even though it was 25 degrees out, I was required to wear a suit, shirt and tie for the occasion. Arriving at the meeting, having partially melted on the journey, I was a little surprised to be welcomed by a lady wearing what can only be described as a pink jumpsuit. As I sat on a battered couch, drinking tea in a Bohemian common room with people dressed for the beach, it was fair to say that I felt a little overdressed. I’m just glad that I wasn’t wearing a hard hat.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

