A Less Than Effeminate Burp and a Millipede in Leggings: Friday 20th May

Today in class we discussed things that ‘were unbelievable but actually true’. I brought out the standard ‘eating too many bananas kills you’ line, a topic of conversation, which is swiftly replacing ‘Japanese fruit is so big!’ as my failsafe conversation starter. However, the Taiwanese student who sits next to me in class, claiming as she did that some people have trouble believing that she is actually a girl, trumped my best efforts. As if to emphasise the point she followed up this statement with a less than effeminate burp.

Just before my legs (spotted here bottom and centre) embarked on a spot of territorial warfare.

This evening I went to Shinjuku to see TIP’s excellent production of the musical ‘Once Upon a Mattress’. In fact it was so excellent that I barely noticed the fact that for over two and a half hours I had less legroom than a millipede in a leotard. Sadly the same could not be said for the women sitting next to me, who stared long and hard at me every time my legs were in danger of encroaching on her ‘personal space’. To be honest I’ve had better nights for feminine relations, as the passengers on the women-only train carriage, which I absent mildly wondered into on my way home, can attest too.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

