A Parasitological Love Story and A Stubborn Refusal Not to Drown: Sunday 22nd May

Today I felt like doing something a little different with my afternoon, and so I headed over to the ‘Parasitological Museum’ in Meguro. There was no entrance fee, and after looking around the various exhibits I very nearly repaid the museum’s generosity with my lunch. I am extremely glad that I couldn’t understand most of what was written next to the exhibits, as some of the human parasites looked terrifying! Allegedly the museum is a popular place for dating couples, and there were quite a few of them there this afternoon. Only in Japan could a parasitological museum by a conduit for a budding romance.

As soon as I saw this dolphin-based parasite my first thought was, ‘I wish there was someone here to share this moment with.’

As I was getting ready to leave the museum I heard someone say that there was ‘a vast amount of rain falling’, but I simply assumed this to be an exaggeration Needless to say it wasn’t, and in the 6-minute walk back to the station I got utterly drenched. My refusal to use an umbrella certainly didn’t help matters, and no doubt gave the impression to any onlookers that I was stubbornly refusing not to drown, although I stand by my decision. I would far rather smell like a wet dog than cause any undue hindrance via incorrect umbrella usage. This way also meant that there was some room for me to sit down on the crowded train, a lot of room in fact.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

