A Little Strange and the World’s Most Complicated Cup of Coffee: Tuesday 24th May

Recently the phrase that I have been hearing more than any other is: ‘chotto hen’ (a little strange). This is mainly because the teacher finds my grammatical constructs to be very odd; but its usage towards me is by no means limited to correcting my speech, indeed my homework is also littered with ‘correct grammar, but a little strange’ comments in soul-destroying red ink. And today, when I said that ‘Even though Shi-san looks ill I will not lend him my medicine’, the entire class turned on me with a chorus of chotto hens. Still, at least now I now know that lending someone your medicine is just not the done thing, in any culture.

Just drink the bleeding thing!

This afternoon I met my friend Sarah for a coffee at the excellently named ‘Human Relations Café’. I must go to this particular coffee shop at least twice a week, and every time I order the same thing: a Balinese coffee. However, when I place my order I am always asked if I know ‘how to drink’ this cup of coffee, which basically amounts to letting it stand for a couple of minutes. Today I attempted to pre-empt the mini-lecture by telling the waiter that ‘Don’t worry, I know exactly how to drink this coffee’. No sooner had the words left my mouth than I was given 5-minute master class in exactly ‘how’ I should drink the coffee. It must have been something I said, or perhaps I just looked a little bit more chotto hen than usual.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

