Life As a Grammatical Puppet and Another Visit from Jehovah: Wednesday 25th May

Today in class we were discussing the notion of how the attachment of physical objects to one’s body is different to the ‘attachment of ideas’. In order to demonstrate this ideology, my Taiwanese neighbour took it upon herself to point to every piece of jewellery and item of clothing that I was wearing, using me as some kind of grammatical puppet. It was as if she had ‘Accessory Tourette’s’, and by the end of it I felt exhausted. I was just glad that I wasn’t wearing a hat or bow-tie, or I would no doubt still be there, trapped in some kind of ventriloquist’s linguistic prison

Some light reading material.

This evening, just as I was getting down to some studying, there came a knock at the door. As it was a Wednesday evening, and I had forgotten to leave the house, it came as no great surprise to see my friend the Jehovah Witness standing on my doorstep; he had obviously come on his tandem, as this time he had brought along a friend. They presented me with some more ‘light reading material’, this time in English, and we proceeded to have a conversation about the different denominations of Christianity. I was also offered a copy of their bible, but told them that I would be able to sort one out for myself this weekend; upon hearing this one of them became very excited and said something about ‘looking forward to studying together.’ I thus now have a week in which to study the scriptures and prepare for a serious theological debate, although I have seem to recall ‘every night this week’ being mentioned at some point. Oh joy.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

